May Phang, piano; Tarn Travers, violin; Eric Edberg, cello
Monday, October 9, 2017  •  7:30 P.M.
Music on the Square, 21 N. Indiana

In honor of founding cellist Eric Edberg’s upcoming retirement, the DePauw Chamber Players have chosen one of his favorite pieces for this performance in the intimate atmosphere of Music on the Square: Tchaikovsky’s massive and deeply moving Piano Trio in A Minor. Complimenting this mature work and keeping with an all-Russian evening, the concert will also include Shostakovich’s early Piano Trio No. 1, written when the composer was just 17.

Shostakovich ~ Trio No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 8                                    

Tchaikovsky ~ Trio in A Minor, Op. 50
     I. Pezzo elegiaco 
     II. A. Tema con variazioni
     III. B. Variazione finale e coda

General admission: $10
Tickets for seniors, youth and all students are free.

Banner photo: Jiawei Fang; inset photo: B. Suzanne Hassler

Get Tickets Now