Faculty Select Series
Friday, Sept. 8, 2017 • 7:30 p.m.
Green Center, 605 S. College Ave.

The centerpiece of TARN TRAVERS' virtuosic program of preludes and fugues for solo violin will be the great Adagio and Fugue from J. S. Bach’s C Major Sonata for Solo Violin (the longest fugue that Bach wrote for any instrument). A member of the DePauw music faculty and the superb Chicago-based Ensemble Dal Niente, Travers will also perform the turbulent Grave and Fugato from Eugène Ysaÿe’s  Sonata No. 1, inspired by Bach’s sonatas for solo violin, along with One, a 21st-century piece by American composer Philip Wharton, in which each movement offers homage to great past composers of solo violin works, including Bach and Ysaÿe, as well as Bélla Bartók and Nicolò Paganini.

About the Artist
Noted for his “polished, atmospheric performances,” TARN TRAVERS has performed throughout the U.S., Europe and Japan. Equally comfortable in all aspects of the violin repertoire, he was a prizewinner at the Heifetz Guarneri auditions in 2001, which led to a performance on the historic “ex-David” Guarneri, the favored violin of Jascha Heifetz. Travers spent three years in the New World Symphony, where he often led the orchestra as concertmaster and also appeared as a soloist. Recent highlights include a performance of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto in Vienna’s Konzerthaus, a Harvard residency and a performance at the Library of Congress with Ensemble Dal Niente. Travers’ love of teaching has taken him to such far flung locations as Haiti and Austria, where he joined the faculty of AlpenKammerMusik in 2014 and 2015. His primary teachers include Camilla Wicks, William Preucil, Axel Strauss, and Philip Setzer.

General admission: $10
Tickets for seniors, youth and all students are free.

Get Tickets Now